[EXAMPLE] Tiled game *UPDATED*

... tutorials on how to use AndEngine.

[EXAMPLE] Tiled game *UPDATED*

Postby rioneye » Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:18 pm

Hey Everyone,

This project contains everything I've been experimenting with over the last three weeks. I thought I would share it, since some of you may face similar problems down the road. I should note that I am pretty new to andEngine and programming in general so don't expect anything too fancy. Also some of the code may not be obvious at first, so if you need an explanation of anything let me know.

This project covers:
-SplashScreen, Options, and Menus
-Basic A* pathing
-TMXMap switching w/AsyncTask(including multiple entrances and exits)
-Tile Animation
-Tile Properties (Events triggered under certain conditions)

Here is what you'll see when you run the project:
device-2011-08-01-124047.png
device-2011-08-01-124047.png (442.29 KiB) Viewed 20014 times

At
1) There is the layer where the player can pass under(really simple to do)
2) There are the animating tiles
3) There is the exit to the large Map (it was large for testing purposes)
4) There is my shack that you can enter :) (The floor looks strange when you walk across though)
5) There is the second entrance to the large map
Note: The large map takes anywhere from 10 to 30 seconds to load depending on your device. If you use the emulator or are connected to the debugger then it may take magnitudes longer. However, the map is stored in memory so you only need to load it once then it should take less then a couple seconds to load if you go back in

I should also note that the Dpad still needs works.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the grey tiles at the top change when the player steps on them.

**************************************************UPDATE*******************************************************