Ongoing guide: Getting started with Shaders in AndEngine

... tutorials on how to use AndEngine.

Ongoing guide: Getting started with Shaders in AndEngine

Postby ltmon » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:10 am

Hi All,

I thought I'd write up this tutorial as a running commentary on my own learning about shaders, and specifically how to use them in AndEngine. The existing specification and many tutorials on shaders is often somewhat complex and assumes a lower-level knowledge of OpenGL than many of us who don't write game engines for a living have. They also tend to focus on 3d problems, such as lighting.

This tutorial will hopefully distill the various sources of information I've been using to figure this out into some small, practical fragments of code to help you get started.

I would expect you to already know Java, AndEngine and have at least a passing understanding of what OpenGL does and how it does it.

I'm just getting started myself, so this tutorial is partly to "error check" my understanding as well as help others. If I'm talking nonsense, please shoot me down and I'll fix the problem. If I subsequently learn better on any point I'll correct it and highlight the correction.

1. What are shaders

In OpenGL ES 2.0 (the version used by the GLES2 branch of AndEngine and available on Android devices >= 2.2) the rendering pipeline is programmable. This means that at various stages between a Sprite or other entity being sent to the GPU and it appearing on screen we have opportunities to insert some code that is executed directly on the GPU and affects the final appearance of our entity.