designing a big game

... tutorials on how to use AndEngine.

designing a big game

Postby milerk » Sun Mar 04, 2012 8:54 am

hi guys, i need some help or advices,
whenever i create a game, especially bigger ones like some tiled RPGs with monsters, levels, equipments, tasks
after like a thousand or two lines of code i got a feeling that im lost in that project, code looks ugly
something doesnt work and fixing stuff takes ultra long time or even game crashes or has low performance etc.
these problems usually annoy me so hard and make me wanna delete this project, and start another one

can someone tell me how to visually design game on paper, cause i dont know where to make different threads,
how often should i update stuff or create main-loop, or use handlers instead :?: :?:
milerk

Re: designing a big game

Postby onerain88 » Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:30 pm

Hi,guy! I have no much experience for developing games!
But if I develop a RPG game, I will do as follow:

1.I will design some kinds of class, as Sprite(or AnimatedSprite), Status(or Scene), Util etc.
2.I will design as the mode of Status Machine! Resources load, game running, pausing and restart are status of the game, different status to different operation!
3.I will design some "Manager", as TaskManager, EquipmentManeger etc. Status of game will trigger, and the managers will response.
4.Divide your logic and performance!

I hope to help you, but my English is bad!
Good luck!
onerain88

Postby rizzythedon » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:56 am