Using a kinetic body instead of a MouseJoint?

... the Physics Box2D Extension for AndEngine.

Using a kinetic body instead of a MouseJoint?

Postby brash » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:54 pm

I am new to Box2D (and game programming), and I think I am not understanding something fundamental. The Box2D documentation mentions that MouseJoints are not suited for game programming and that one should probably use a kinetic body instead:

Many users have tried to adapt the mouse joint for game play. Users often want to achieve precise positioning and instantaneous response. The mouse joint doesn’t work very well in that context. You may wish to consider using kinematic bodies instead.

I think I understand how to use a MouseJoint and I think I understand what a kinetic body is. But I don't understand how the two are interchangeable. Could someone explain?

To give a bigger picture: I would like to cause a sprite to bounce off my finger if I drag my finger into it. MouseJoints looked like what I wanted, until I read the Box2D documentation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
brash

Re: Using a kinetic body instead of a MouseJoint?

Postby D13 » Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:01 pm

I poked around doing something similar a while back just doing some Box2D testing. What I did was create a static body to control. I moved the static body around the screen using setTransform and any dynamic bodies were knocked out of the way or otherwise contacted the static body in the process. Using a Kinetic body probably would work just as well. Both static and kinetic bodies act as they have infinite mass, meaning they do not respond to collision forces, and their commanded movements will not be interfered with by other objects.