Scale

... the Physics Box2D Extension for AndEngine.

Scale

Postby kkarry » Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:02 pm

I'm new to AE and B2. So bear with me please.

So I created a simple project. A 480x800 camera, and 32x32 pixel image. Then set the gravity at Earth and dropped the stripe. It did drop, but it didn't seem "natural" to me; it dropped to slow.

Then I realized there should be a translation between pixels and meters somewhere. The gravity is in m/s2, while the environment is in pixels. Where does this scaling happen? How do I control it?

Just to try, I multiplied the gravity by a factor of 10, and it improved the "naturaleness". But I think there should be a more sophisticated method.

Thanks in advance.
kkarry

Re: Scale

Postby Therdiday » Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:10 pm

Then I realized there should be a translation between pixels and meters somewhere. The gravity is in m/s2, while the environment is in pixels. Where does this scaling happen? How do I control it?

Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1. public interface PhysicsConstants {
  2.         // ===========================================================
  3.         // Final Fields
  4.         // ===========================================================
  6.         public static final float PIXEL_TO_METER_RATIO_DEFAULT = 32.0f;
  8.         // ===========================================================
  9.         // Methods
  10.         // ===========================================================
  11. }
Parsed in 0.013 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4

Just to try, I multiplied the gravity by a factor of 10, and it improved the "naturaleness". But I think there should be a more sophisticated method.

This greatly depends on what you want the game to "feel" like. As anybody searching the box2d forums knows, there is a great difference between accurate physical simulation and fun gameplay. I usually have gravity set to a factor of 4 for my games.
Therdiday

Re: Scale