force close error

... the MultiTouch Extension for AndEngine.

force close error

Postby zmatokan » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:19 pm

Hello. I am a new to Android programming. I am learning about andengine for last few days and i am trying to make multitouch extension work but i get force error everytime. I am using source code from code.google. Collision detection. i created BaseExample, .MultiTouch, MultiTouchController, MultiTouchExeption and CollisionDetectionExample classes. Just copy/pasted from code.google and i get 0 errors but when i try and run it i get force close. I am sorry if this is a stupid question, but i am very new to this and not familiar how to actually put those extensions on andganem in another way. Thanks!
zmatokan

Re: force close error

Postby Selzier » Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:28 am

We do not have enough information to determine why your program is force closing. Here is a quick overview of how to get the MultiTouchExample working:

1. Create a new Eclipse Project, name it MultiTouchExample for now (same as the actual example).

2. Open your project's workspace folder (ex /Workspace/MultiTouchExample/) and create a directory called "lib". Copy andengine.jar and andenginemultitouchextension.jar to your project's lib folder.

3. Back in Eclipse, refresh your project and expand your /lib folder. Right click on andengine.jar and andenginemultitouchextension.jar and add them to the build path (right click > Build Path > Add to Build Path).

4. Now open your new MultiTouchExample.java. You class should not extend Activity, change this to BaseGameActivity. Delete the auto generated code so your project should look like this:
Syntax: [ Download ] [ Hide ]
Using java Syntax Highlighting
  1. public class MultiTouchExample extends BaseGameActivity {
  3. }
Parsed in 0.030 seconds, using GeSHi 1.0.8.4