Character Movement

... discussions about development with the GLES1 branch of AndEngine.

Character Movement

Postby Siddharth » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:30 pm

I want to develop a game that is similar to the following game.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... GFyemFuIl0.

I was confused about how to develop character like tarzan. I have some what enough experience with andengine. How to perform movement of the character. I some question about this type game.

1) I have to use box2d or not?
2) I have to create single body body for the character of multiple? and how implementation done using single body?
3) How to perform different action on the character?

Only basic concept become enough for me. Thanks for you support.
Siddharth

Re: Character Movement

Postby ViktorS » Wed Dec 26, 2012 2:40 am

I didn't really play the game, but from screenshots - it's a simple platformer. So:
1) Box2d - yes, I would definetly recommend using it.
2) Simple(one fixture) single body for character. Simple single bodies for enemies. Single complex(multi-fixture) body for ground. Character and enemy bodies are dynamic ground is static. Character and enemy bodies should be set to fixed rotation, so they don't turn. For more controll over character movement I suggest setting linear damping to 0. Not necessary, but easier to calculate jumps and such.
3) Set(or Apply) linear velocity. To move or jump. Linear velocity is set by 2 values x and y. For simple movement set x to predefined value and 0 y, for jumps set both to some value. Also I found it easier to change friction to 0 when moving and then change it to 100(or any other suitable value) when stopping. This makes it harder to manage, but again, easier to calculate precise movement.