Box2d debug draw - working and simple to use

... the case you feel the need for a new feature or want to submit one.

Box2d debug draw - working and simple to use

Postby nazgee » Sun Nov 04, 2012 12:24 pm

Hi,

If you are interested in debugging BOX2D physics by getting the following:
joints.png
joints and bodies are visible (rope and revolution joints shown)
joints.png (189.68 KiB) Viewed 4545 times

you are kindly invited to continue reading :)

I've been using AE for quite a while now. I remember that when I tried using debug draw by skyuzo I was complaining about some problems it had (see here). He did a good job by sharing his solution, but it just was not good enough...

Few days ago I started playing with box2d again, and once again I've encountered issues with skyuzo's implementation... It just does not handle multiple and complex fixtures correctly, which can cause A LOT of frustration...

To show what I mean- pictures! This is the same scene with the same bodies (and no sprite bound to them, but who cares). As you can see the result IS quite different...

theirs-GLES2.png
skyuzo's debug draw - not working on multi-fixture bodies
theirs-GLES2.png (20.31 KiB) Viewed 4906 times

mine-GLES2.png
new debug draw in action - handles multi fixtures OK
mine-GLES2.png (23.65 KiB) Viewed 4906 times

I tried to rewrite skyuzo's implementation, but could not fix all the issues- some things were just not took into account in the first place, hence were hard to rewrite.

There is one more thing. Even if one is satisfied with how original debug draw by skyuzo works, it was still pain in the ass to use (missing primitives classes). To make life easier, RealMayo shared his solution in this post, but it requires using his branch of AE. This would be OK if his branch would be properly managed. Unfortunately it is just a huge blob with only one "initial commit", which I believe is unacceptable (makes impossible to track what and why was changed).