Andengine Emulation

... the case you feel the need for a new feature or want to submit one.

Andengine Emulation

Postby While(E) » Wed Feb 22, 2012 4:52 am

Not sure if this is really a feature request, or an extension altogether but I recently jumped over to LibGDX to experience myself the comparison between it and AndEngine. Although I'm just getting into it, there are a few things that I did notice immediately:

Lower Level - Meaning less abstraction of the actual java/c that is run by LibGDX/Box2D. It just feels more java to me, and probably because as they point out it's not an actual engine really, more of a framework. Yet this means more code for you to write generally.

Testing - IMHO the best part of LibGDX is it's cross-platform with PC which makes it amazingly easy to implement, test, debug, implement, test, debug... and so on. Plus, you get to see your game running at actual speed (actually faster probably because it's on PC and not mobile)... closer to the actual end result of the project on a mobile device. The fact that you could sell your game to PC users is a bonus.

Now to the point:
:star: I think if we could make an extension, or even a third party emulator that would allow us to do something similar with regards to testing directly on the PC hardware it would be AMAZING! Allowing developers to see their programming in real-time (without an amazing device on hand) and save them a good amount of time collectively as they test more and more.
While(E)

Re: Andengine Emulation

Postby xcyu » Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:32 am

Sounds like a good idea but I think it will take a very large effort. What you want is an actual engine that is abstracted enough like Andengine but also cross platform like libgdx right?

I think there is not much point of trying modify or extend Andengine to achieve that... The easiest way to do that might be just building an engine on top of libgdx like Rokon engine http://code.google.com/p/rokon/. Just my opinion of course...
xcyu